Tag: Medieval fantasy

Time of Proving by Tamora Pierce

Coming of age stories have a lot of power to them – after all, everybody comes of age in some way or another, and at some point. There are a multitude of ways and traditions which allow children to become adults. Time of Proving is one such story, it is short and succinct, yet, the idea of coming of age and finding one’s path in life is pursued and memories of childhood and the decisions we made on that cusp of adulthood flash back at you as you read this short story.

Read more Time of Proving by Tamora Pierce

Plain Magic by Tamora Pierce

This was a fantastic spin on the traditional sacrificing a virgin to the dragon story. Like all of Pierce's stories, Plain Magic champions the strength of women and integrity over all else. Tonya’s frustration at being trapped in a small village where her mentors refuse to teach her only heighten the inequality and strength of Tonya’s character. As the sacrificial virgin, she contrasts against every ideal that these tales normally purport for such a symbol – she is not malleable, completely pure, or helpless.

Read more Plain Magic by Tamora Pierce

The Realm of the Gods by Tamora Pierce

What a stunning conclusion to an already amazing quartet. Daine’s heritage, war and place in life are finally cemented by her trip to the realm of the gods – literally. Even her powers fully come to the fore in this tale as she grasps who she is and what she is able to do. Finally, the Immortals War reaches its conclusion, Daine becomes an adult and Ozorne is bought to justice.

Read more The Realm of the Gods by Tamora Pierce

Wild Magic by Tamora Pierce

Tamora Pierce is one of the first authors I truly became obsessed with. Her books are the first I can remember just devouring and spending hours reading at a time. So, any book of hers is going to get a good review from me. And, The Immortals Quartet is probably one of my favourite Tortall stories. Probably because there is a heavy emphasis on the natural world and animals.

Read more Wild Magic by Tamora Pierce

The Kings of Clonmel by John Flanagan

It was really enjoyable to delve into Halt’s history and his past. He is the perfect enigmatic mentor for Will (and even Horace), so his history and what led him to become the mysterious hero that we love and know has fascinated me since the inklings of it in Oakleaf Bearers. The presence of his twin brother, and the reminder that no matter how many genes two people have in common, they can still become completely different characters. Halt’s steadfastness and admirable sense of self are severely juxtaposed by his brother’s entire persona – a great reminder that it is our choices that create us, not our parentage.

Read more The Kings of Clonmel by John Flanagan

Erak’s Ransom by John Flanagan

It was fun to flash back in time after the conclusion of The Siege of Macindaw. Will’s last year as a Ranger was always going to be an important story, if not just for his graduation, but also his hopes and dreams for his own future. The fact that this gets wrapped up with rescuing Erak from another fascinating nationality (the Arridi) just added to the feeling of excitement and closure at Will’s final year of apprenticeship.

Read more Erak’s Ransom by John Flanagan

The Siege of Macindaw by John Flanagan

The depth of Will’s care for his loved ones becomes blatantly obvious in The Siege of Macindaw. The lengths to which he is willing to go to rescue Alyss are remarkable, and the depth of his conviction throughout this story is incredibly endearing. It is also a great hallmark of the man that Flanagan was able to effortlessly create out of the boy who started out confused and scared in The Ruins of Gorlan.

Read more The Siege of Macindaw by John Flanagan

The Sorcerer in the North by John Flanagan

The first four books in the Ranger’s Apprentice series focus on Will’s apprenticeship, and therefore, a lot of the time, it is Halt that eventually gets him out of the slightly tricky situations in which he finds himself. However, as a newly qualified Ranger, Will must find his own style and strength on his first solo mission. This progression of Will’s place in society is so seamless, that it isn’t until at least halfway through the book that you realise that you are half waiting for Halt to appear out of nowhere to offer some friendly advice and guidance.

Read more The Sorcerer in the North by John Flanagan

Oakleaf Bearers by John Flanagan

John Flanagan does a wonderful job of taking a nationality as it would have lived and existed in pre-modern times and twisting them to suit his Ranger’s Apprentice series. The Skandians are a fantastic mimicry of the Vikings and manage to capture your interest from the very beginning. However, it is in Oakleaf Bearers that this talent is truly highlighted – the Gallicans and Temujai bring eerily familiar flavours to the tale of Will, Halt, Evanlyn and Horace’s exploits across the seas. Yet, he manages to set these antagonist peoples up in a way that isn’t insulting or degrading to the French and Mongolians upon whom he based these peoples. They may be the bad guys, but they have their own families and ways of life, which Flanagan makes obvious.

Read more Oakleaf Bearers by John Flanagan